hours of work, minimum wages, annual vacations, holidays with pay, equal wages, group and individual terminations of employment, severance pay and the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour in contracts made with the Government of Canada for construction, remodelling, repair or demolition of any work; government employee compensation, merchant seamen compensation, and employment safety; and transitional assistance benefits for auto workers and adjustment assistance benefits for textile workers and for footwear and tanning workers. It promotes joint consultation with industries through labour management committees and operates a women's bureau. The department publishes the *Labour Gazette* and other publications as well as general information on labour management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian government and the International Labour Organization. The Canada Labour Relations Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

Department of Manpower and Immigration. The Department of Manpower and Immigration, created under the provisions of the Government Organization Act 1966, operated under RSC 1970, c.M-1, with responsibility for the development and utilization of manpower resources in Canada, employment services and immigration. On May 26, 1976, the Minister of Manpower and Immigration announced plans to integrate the Department of Manpower and Immigration with the Unemployment Insurance Commission.

When the Employment and Immigration Reorganization Act was proclaimed in August 1977 the Department of Manpower and Immigration and the Unemployment Insurance Commission ceased to exist. The act established the Department of Employment and Immigration, the Canada Employment and Immigration Commission and the Canada Employment and Immigration Advisory Council, and amended the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1971 and certain other statutes. The Canada Employment and Immigration Advisory Council combines the functions of the former UIC Advisory Committee and the Canada Manpower and Immigration Council. With the merger, the new commission became one of the largest government operations, numbering about 27,000 people. The title of the responsible minister was changed to Minister of Employment and Immigration.

Department of National Defence. The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The Minister of National Defence is responsible for the control and management of the Canadian Forces, the Defence Research Board and all matters relating to national defence. He is also responsible for the construction and maintenance of all defence establishments and facilities required for the defence of Canada.

The deputy minister is the senior public servant in the department and the principal civilian adviser to the minister on all departmental affairs. He is responsible for ensuring that all policy direction from the government is reflected in the administration of the department and in military plans and operations. The Chief of the Defence Staff is the senior military adviser to the minister and is charged with the control and administration of the Canadian Forces. He is responsible for the effective conduct of military operations and the readiness of the Canadian Forces to meet the commitments assigned to them by the government.

A Defence Council, consisting of the Minister of National Defence as chairman, the Deputy Minister of National Defence, the Chief of Defence Staff, the Chairman of the Defence Research Board, the Vice-Chief of the Defence Staff, the Assistant Deputy Minister (Policy), and the Deputy Chief of Defence Staff, meets as required to consider and advise on major policy matters. The Crown corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare. This department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9). An Administration Branch serves both the health and welfare branches. The Deputy Minister of National Health and Welfare administers 10 branches: Health Programs, Health Protection, Medical Services, Long Range Health Planning, Administration, Social Services Programs, Income Security Programs, Policy Research and Long Range Planning (Welfare), and Welfare Information Systems; Fitness and Amateur Sport is a branch of the department reporting to Parliament through the Minister of State for Fitness and Amateur Sport.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, national health grants, federal emergency health services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Inuit across Canada and all residents of the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, government employee health services and leprosy control as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request.

Welfare programs include the Canada Pension Plan, old age security and guaranteed income supplements, family allowances, the Canada Assistance Plan and emergency welfare services. There are also developmental programs, including national welfare grants, family planning grants and information and grants to groups of retired persons under the New Horizons Program.

The National Council of Welfare reports directly to the minister who also reports to Parliament for the Medical Research Council.